(BBW) Romance…. what the hell?

While browsing through some book stores on the internet I noticed not for the first time the letters BBW nicely tucked away between brackets in the title. I admit, I have been lazy and it has taken me years of seeing that before (last night) I finally did a google search to find out what it meant. Big Beautiful Women… huh?

Okay, for the BBW reading this blog, maybe now is the time for you to grab some strong coffee before you continue reading (and maybe just add a shot of tequila to be on the safe side).

Do I have issues with this? Actually I do, it´s complicated. Let me see where do I begin. Books with BBW in the title tend to focus too much on the overweight female characters instead of the story, her actions or her personality. It is usually all about her size and her insecurities with the gorgeous and perfect male. So that was issue number 1, moving on to issue number 2, while I don´t believe in the stick thin models nor in anything as absurd as a size 0, does that even exist? I enjoy walking into a store and finding clothes for women who actually eat and yes, I believe a woman is meant to have beautiful curves but being obese is another story.

Before the BBW start screaming that it is not that easy to loose weight, you are right it is not, but it´s not impossible. I went through a diet that Hades drank from the Phlegethon and spat out for Cerberus to carry into this world just for me and for months I was a regular visitor in the Underworld drinking from the Cocytus but in the end it was worth it.

These books are telling women that it is okay to be extremely overweight or obese, well it´s not okay to do that to yourself, to your body and to those who love you. We are not defined by our bodies, but not taking care of yourself does define you as irresponsible. And if the book is about a beautiful woman who has a soft body and gorgeous curves like they are meant to have, then don´t label them as BBW.

After that being said, I avoid reading books that have the BBW in the title, just because the authors focus too much on the wrong things and lose sight of the plot. I have never read one book that the female character was overweight and the author pushed the story in a different direction like making the character eat healthier, walk instead of driving or just going to dance lessons and enjoying the hell out of life in the process. That´s too bad because life isn´t always about looking in the mirror, shrugging and saying `whatever´, life is about going out there and doing what needs to be done.

So to the BBW out there or those that think you are, if you are just curvy as you are meant to be, please remove those three letters from your vocabulary and enjoy life and to those that are slightly more, well maybe you might want to give Hades a visit, it makes all the difference in the end.

Hope the tequila helped read to the end …

 

 

Leave a Reply

