The ungrateful

I don´t usually have much to say on current events, especially not on my blog, my mother always told me that if I want to keep my friends never to discuss religion, politics and football. But lately it seems that every second news article is related to Greece and after reading plenty of them I decided to voice my opinion.

Reading about Greece is depressing, but what is truly annoying is that Germany has a very short memory considering that after World War II their debt was forgiven by many countries (including Greece) to help get them get back on their feet. Isn´t it sad that they are not capable of showing the same kindness?
“The 1953 agreement, in which Greece and about 20 other countries effectively wrote off a large chunk of Germany’s loans and restructured the rest, is a landmark case that shows how effective debt relief can be. It helped spark what became known as the German economic miracle.

So it’s perhaps ironic that Germany is now among the countries resisting Greece’s requests to have part of its debts written off.”

Let´s just hope that that is all that they have forgotten.

Leave a Reply

