Revealed!! The Shocking Secret Famous Authors Don’t Want You To Know!!

Surely something to think about..

Dysfunctional Literacy

If you're doing this, you might never become a famous author. (image via wikimedia) If you’re doing this, you might never become a famous author. (image via wikimedia)

Famous authors give the same advice to struggling authors over and over again.  Don’t use adverbs.  Skip boring parts.  Write every day, no matter what.  Read as much as you can, even if you aren’t writing.

For all my adult life, I’ve followed the advice of famous authors, but I’ve never become successful.  It’s been frustrating.  But last week, famous author James Ellroy (in an interview found here) may have unintentionally revealed the true secret of being a successful author:

“I don’t read many novels because I write them and I want them to be perfect. And I can’t tolerate imperfection when I read fiction, and how often do you see perfection?”

Ummm….

What?

All my life I’ve been told that if you’re going to be a successful writer, then you have to never stop…

View original post 621 more words

Leave a Reply

