A review of Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy # 1) by Ilona Andrews

http://www.amazon.com/Burn-Me-Hidden-Legacy-Novel-ebook/dp/B00I7V11WU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1415033327&sr=8-1&keywords=ilona+andrews+burn+for+me
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy #1) by Ilona Andrews

#1 New York Times bestselling author Ilona Andrews launches a brand new Hidden Legacy series, in which one woman must place her trust in a seductive, dangerous man who sets off an even more dangerous desire…

Nevada Baylor is faced with the most challenging case of her detective career—a suicide mission to bring in a suspect in a volatile case. Nevada isn’t sure she has the chops. Her quarry is a Prime, the highest rank of magic user, who can set anyone and anything on fire.

Then she’s kidnapped by Connor “Mad” Rogan—a darkly tempting billionaire with equally devastating powers. Torn between wanting to run or surrender to their overwhelming attraction, Nevada must join forces with Rogan to stay alive.

Rogan’s after the same target, so he needs Nevada. But she’s getting under his skin, making him care about someone other than himself for a change. And, as Rogan has learned, love can be as perilous as death, especially in the magic world.

My review:

Reviewing your favourite authors is never an easy thing to do, especially when they write series that you absolutely love. Ilona Andrews falls into this category with their Kate Daniels series, these are books that never leave my kindle for several reasons; (i) I like to reread the series every now and again just because; (ii) purely for therapeutically reasons: after a particularly bad book I will revert to Kate to make things better and (iii) because I simply miss the characters and indulge myself.

When said authors launch a new series I pre-order without knowing anything about it and don’t even have to think about getting a brand new book in a new world with new characters and a new plot. This was the case with Burn for Me (Hidden Legacy book 1), it was pre-ordered and on the day it was uploaded I found it safely tucked into my kindle, it did however take me two days of occasionally staring at the cover before I finally got round to opening it. It is probably ridiculous to have this unfounded fear that it just might not reach my expectations but they set the standard with previous books.

So I did finally read Burn for Me.

The plot is twisted and interesting as it builds and evolves and you find yourself on a winding road with tight curves and a crazy lack of speed limits. I love the magic and how it affects society and structures. I particularly enjoyed the aspects to which the authors give importance and priority throughout this book, family. This is well understood (and truly enjoyed) with the family members, their love, humour, disagreements, pain, happiness and unity. Everything a family should be.

The world of Burn for Me has the most interesting characters, whether we are referring to the main characters or those who make an appearance for a whole of three sentences. The characters as always are rich, well developed and incredibly expressive, it takes real talent to bring that across in words and this duo of authors has yet to fail in this field. Nevada Baylor has this long list of incredible qualities and is all woman for many reasons and I liked her all the better for having amazing strengths and credible weaknesses. Connor ‘Mad’ Rogan, well…. I truly hate to say this but, if the authors keep this up, Curran might face some serious competition for favourite in future, but not quite yet! And Grandma Frida… seriously? I want to adopt her and take her home with me.

I hate to admit this but they did have me charmed with Adam Pierce for a few chapters, it is frightening for several reasons and I think we should be grateful that the Adam Pierce’s of our world are not able to do what he does as there are more than enough of them around. As with other series and books, Ilona Andrews has the amazing ability to focus equally on all characters, their development exquisitely done and you have such a clear understanding of the personalities and their role in the story and once again it is relatively easy to imagine them in your mind as the authors give you all that you need to achieve that. Until they twist it and you reread the pages astounded that you hadn’t seen that one coming. Well played Ilona Andrews, well played!

I have never been to the USA so with the aid of google images and the wonderful description of the authors I visualised the city of Houston as Nevada went from one place to the other, the Pit was imagined to perfection (well my version of it anyway), I must say that it was an extremely fun visit.

This review was based on my first quick read in a rush to reach the end. With the second slower and more focussed read there will possibly be edits and changes to this review on my blog. But for now this is the verdict of a very happy fan.

Leave a Reply

