Review of the The Kraken King, Part VIII: The Kraken King and the Greatest Adventure (Iron Seas #4.8)

The Kraken King, Part VIII: The Kraken King and the Greatest Adventure (Iron Seas, #4.8)

The Kraken King, Part VIII: The Kraken King and the Greatest Adventure (Iron Seas #4.8)

by Meljean Brook (Goodreads Author)

Experience the incredible adventure and heart-stopping romance of the Iron Seas in this thrilling steampunk tale from New York Times bestselling author Meljean Brook.

The Kraken King, Part VIII
The Kraken King and the Greatest Adventure

Arriving in Krakentown with their enemies in hot pursuit, Zenobia doesn’t know how they can even hope to win. Being terrified brings forth an undeniable truth: she loves Ariq and will do whatever it takes to stand by him.

But as their adversaries appear on the horizon, they realize that not all is lost. Drawing on the power of the terrible war machine, Ariq, Zenobia, and the entire town must put their lives on the line to protect what they love.

My review

And so arrived the dreaded last Kraken Tuesday, I delayed starting the book, stupid I know, the fact that I delay starting is not going to avoid the end, but alas the end has arrived and I have reached it. Is it unfair to say that I was expecting the excellent installment? Probably not, the author has yet to produce a book that can be called less than wonderful. It is with a mixture of happiness and sadness that I write this review. Happy that I had the opportunity to read such a great book and sadness that I am saying goodbye to the most amazing alternative world, airships and incredible cities that one could imagine, I even liked the kraken’s. The characters, well the characters, if I actually knew how to write (author writing that is) I could probably write an essay on the characters I have come across in the Iron Seas novels and the Kraken King is no exception.

Why should you read these books? Well if you like steampunk you will not be disappointed, Meljean Brook has yet to disappoint in that field, adventure.. oh there is plenty! Action? All the time! Complicated plots and political intrigue? Well, you will look around you and where ever you are will feel like you live in Switzerland. Romance? Oh hell just grab the books and read them, this is so worth every cent I paid for it.

There is a lot to say about this book, so many great characters and places. I don’t like giving away spoilers so I will just say that this was a fantastic read. And the cherry on top of the icing is that the author will finally write about the Blacksmith! I am so looking forward to that.

Leave a Reply

