Review of the The Kraken King Part V: The Kraken King and the Iron Heart

The Kraken King Part V: The Kraken King and the Iron Heart (Iron Seas, #4.5)

The Kraken King Part V: The Kraken King and the Iron Heart (Iron Seas #4.5)

by Meljean Brook (Goodreads Author)


The Kraken King, Part V The Kraken King and the Iron Heart

With their lives and the fate of an empire at stake, Ariq is forced to leave Zenobia behind. Held captive by their enemies, Zenobia can only pray that Ariq keeps his promise to come for her—until a terrible loss prods her to action.

Ariq has no intention of handing over the Skybreaker to the two men responsible for the marauders’ attacks against Krakentown—but without a ransom to give them, Ariq must risk everything to rescue Zenobia and stop the swarming forces bent on destruction.

My Review:
It’s bloody hard to write reviews, I’m not a writer so I’m always aware that whatever I write reflects rather poorly the author’s accomplishments. Also, I don’t want to give away spoilers and I am definitely not repeating what’s written in the blurb, for me that is just taking up space.
That said, let me start by saying that this part felt longer than the previous. I had mentioned one of the previous series had felt short, I believe that that it has all to do with content rather than word count. This series has a lot more informative dialogue, not that the other series don’t have it, but the first chapters are spent in the company of new characters and we get some insight into these characters that had only been mentioned before. There are some heartbreaking scenes and others simply beautiful.
Again Meljean Brook transports you into a magical world, and this time I was introduced to glowing jellyfish, and there is a lovely story behind the air-balloon that transports the lovers in this series.
As far as the relationship between Ariq and Zenobia goes, I suppose one could call it a romance, but I think it would be fair to instead refer to their relationship as a glorious love story in the making. The author truly creates magic as the love developing between Zenobia and Ariq is beautifully written. As Zenobia tries to push aside her emotional fears one can claim with certainty that she is definitely a fighter and Ariq could easily be every women’s dream come true (I tend to swoon when reading about him).But these two wonderful characters and their beautiful love story is not the only thing that keeps me anxiously waiting every Tuesday for the new series to be available, there is a political plot that I am curious as to how it is going to end and I am truly excited to see what happens when they reach the Red City.

Zenobia is one of the most (realistic) resourceful characters that I have ever read about and if any man did for me what Ariq did for Zenobia I would marry him on the spot.

Another great series and left with so much to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

