Pissing people off with my reviews

Heart and Sol by Karie Hendon

Heart and Sol (Kalliste Reynolds, #1)

Recently I tried to read this book and did not finish it, I left a rating and a review on Goodreads as to why I didn’t finish the book and why I didn’t like it. (There is a reason I put the cover on here), please take a good look at the lovely girl on the cover… remember her later on when I start ranting.

I will start with the positive things:  there were no spelling mistakes, misuse of words or bad grammar, the writing itself wasn’t bad and the idea of the story was actually okay. But then the author messed everything with her main character Kalista.

Why did I dislike the character to the point of not finishing the book? Apparently this lovely girl on the cover is a plus size… Really? But that’s not all, she is constantly going on about her weight and her insecurity because of weight and what pissed me off was that she refused to exercise or eat healthy. What the hell is she complaining about? First of all that is a perfectly healthy normal looking girl, why would you want to traumatize people by telling them that their perfectly healthy bodies are a plus size? Authors have a social responsibility with issues like weight and eating disorders, don’t promote obesity or anorexia in your books please, if you have to include weight issues in a romance novel at least promote health and happiness and by healthy I don’t mean skinny.

Being obese is unhealthy, being a size 0 is unhealthy, having curves and a fuller body is perfectly fine!! Eating shit and being lazy makes you obese (unless you have some or other disease and it cannot be helped) and starving yourself is just sick. If I see a dog in the street with his bones showing I call the authorities to report animal abuse and neglect. How the hell can anyone think that that kind of body can be translated into beauty for women? If it’s cruel for animals surely it is also cruel for women. 

Mozambique is one of the poorest countries in the world, the majority of our population lives in poverty so to us and most African countries, a size 0 usually means two things, poverty or illness and sadly most of the times the illness is HIV/AIDS.

At the end of the day I love my curves, I eat healthy and I exercise, I will never be skinny and besides, bones are for dogs to chew on not for men (or women) to grope on to.

An upset reader left a comment on my review telling that I had obviously never been a plus size and that we didn’t read the same book. Perhaps we didn’t, but there is no way in hell that the girl on the cover of this book is a plus size.

Leave a Reply

