A review of the Kraken King part IV

The Kraken King, Part IV: The Kraken King and the Inevitable Abduction (Iron Seas, #4.4)

The Kraken King, Part IV: The Kraken King and the Inevitable Abduction (Iron Seas #4.4)

by Meljean Brook (Goodreads Author)

The Kraken King has declared that Zenobia Fox is under his protection—and with her identity revealed, she needs that protection more than ever. But it comes with a price when Ariq demands that Zenobia reveal her secrets in return.

Ariq wants nothing more than for Zenobia to trust him, and he knows exactly which sensual tricks will breach her defenses. But although she urgently desires the powerful governor, Zenobia isn’t a woman who will be easily won with a few passionate kisses.

When his ambush goes awry, Ariq discovers just how deeply he can hurt her—but the real danger to Zenobia is one that he never expected.

My review:

So I nearly had a nervous breakdown when Amazon tried to screw me over and I wasn’t able to download this story when I got home from work today. My husband looked at me and weighed his options: (i) a hysterical woman without her book and (ii) the peace and quiet of the said woman sitting perfectly still reading her book (maybe devouring is a more appropriate word here). Hubby came to rescue and downloaded the book for me (I will thank him later).

Now, I am staring at my kindle, slightly nervous at what Meljean Brook has put into words this time round. I’m currently in a love hate relationship with this author, I love what she writes, I hate that she is supplying it slowly (painfully slowly). Finally I opened part four of this series and it brings a rather surprising relief to the weekly anxiety of waiting for the next installment of the Kraken King. Drama queen much? Not at all, you can’t understand this suffering if you’re not reading one installment at a time. Of course you can take the pain free method and just wait for all installments to be available and read happily to the end. But I made the mistake of reading the first one and there is no going back and no waiting for the end, so I will endure this self inflicted pain.

I happily opened the book and found myself somewhere over Southwestern Australia making my way to the Red City on May 27th. I smile because this is my father’s birthday and three days before my own. Aforementioned hubby has now disappeared as I’m no longer in my comfortable home, but instead I can feel the hot desert air that’s scorching my skin and I’m surprised that I will miss the smugglers den as Zenobia and Ariq continue their journey to the Red City.

Zenobia’s letters to her brother are most entertaining, her sense of humour shines through in her words to him and I can only hope that the author will continue with these. Avoiding boring dialogue between the characters, Meljean Brook manages to supply us with a fair amount of background information on who they are, their fears and hopes helping us understand them better and thus their actions too.

Finally I know why they call it the Red City, I confess I was very curious about this. How exciting, this is a city full of strange customs and even more peculiar people and I will not share the most astounding revelation of how this city is built, only that is beyond imagination and very original (unless you’re Australian, then you would probably have thought it). The steampunk theme is always present, amongst other things there are the airships. There is something fascinating about airships and I love imagining them hovering above the cities, balloons, wings and steam engines, how can one not be captivated with these descriptions?

There is no risk in repeating myself when I say that I am swooning at the sweetness between Zenobia and Ariq as this is the first time that the beauty of romance sweetens this book. I love a good and well written romance, so I’m smiling. But now I risk repetition by saying that I was not disappointed by the extremely well written action scenes and the elaborate political intrigue that I look forward to in this story and always find. Damn I am a sucker for a good plot!

What? It’s finished already? Meljean Brook is that anyway to end this story?

Here comes the love hate thing again… Another week of waiting, another week of agony before I can read what will happen next.

Leave a Reply

