Review of the Kraken King part II

The Kraken King Part II: The Kraken King and the Abominable Worm (Iron Seas, #4.2)

The Kraken King Part II: The Kraken King and the Abominable Worm (Iron Seas #4.2)

by Meljean Brook (Goodreads Author)

As they continue their expedition across Australia, Ariq is determined to stay close to Zenobia and figure out what kind of game she’s playing—even as his admiration for the enigmatic woman starts to override his suspicion.

For Zenobia, revealing her identity to a man who once made his living outside of the law is out of the question—even though Ariq’s dashing looks and blunt manner are distractingly appealing.

But before anyone’s secrets or desires can be exposed, an unexpected attack threatens to destroy them all.

My review:

So part II came and went in the blink of an eye, mainly my fault because I didn’t put it down until I was finished.
The only comparison I can come up with to explain what it’s like to read the Kraken King in a serial with each part being released every week is perhaps like playing candy crush (for those who play will know what I mean), you going smoothly and you think you are almost there and next thing you know you are out of lives and waiting for the next one to come again. So I will now patiently wait for the 29th to continue this adventure. Let me say that I preordered all eight parts of this book and I had all intention of reading them in one go once I had the full set, but I made a huge mistake and read part I… then part II, that said, I will leave the reviews weekly as I read them without giving away spoilers.

I like Zenobia’s character, as I’ve already said, she is intelligent and funny although she did leave me slightly frustrated in this book, I do appreciate that she is clever and rational and extremely resourceful. The voyage so far is amazing and the adventure continues, let me just say that I haven’t seen kraken’s in this installment but we saw something as mundane as a kangaroo and something completely new…. a boilerworm, new indeed. Well you will just have to read to know all about these. The steampunk theme continues marvelously although they are in the desert and let me just say that I had a very high expectation for part 2 of the Kraken King and it was surpassed. Right now I’m tempted to call Meljean Brook a genius.

Leave a Reply

