Heather Killough-Walden continued……

For those of you that don’t know her, it is my pleasure to introduce Heather Killough-Walden.
 
From her Goodreads Page:
Goodreads Author

website: http://www.killough-walden.com/

twitter username: killoughwalden
member since: July 2011
About this author

:
Heather Killough-Walden is a California native currently living in Texas with her husband and child. She is the New York Times bestselling author of the Big Bad Wolf series. Heather’s educational background includes religious studies, archeology, and law. She has traveled all over the world but hopes to one day live in a town with a world-class hockey team. (Let’s Go Pens!) Visit Heather’s website at www.killough-walden.com, where you can sign up for her newsletter. Also, be sure to keep in touch with her and other fans through her Facebook fan page and through Twitter (killoughwalden)!

 
From the above text you have a small overview of the basic information, so we have established that she is a mother a wife, a daughter a sister and I’m assuming so much more. But the reason she is being featured on my blog is because her most important role for me, note the ‘for me’ bit, is her role in life as ‘author extraordinaire’.
 
I could just talk about her books, but I won’t, in a previous post I supplied her reading list, and this is what I will say about her books:
1. Yes they are brilliant
2. Yes you should read at least one of her series,
3. Yes they have action, well elaborated plots and romance
4. Yes there is character development and the characters will leave you thinking about them long after you have finished the book 
5. Yes the books are wonderfully edited
6. No, this author does not publish crap
7. Heather Killough-Walden is proof that there are wonderful Indie authors worth reading
 
So what gives this author just that little extra shine?

I like plenty of authors but I don’t bother to follow them on the social media, they share absolutely nothing except book promotions, Amazon and Goodreads does that too. It’s when they share a little of themselves with the readers that I follow them. When a Facebook page isn’t just about promoting books but to socialize with fans, to chat on everyday things and to reply kindly to questions (sometimes really stupid ones) from the fans.

Instead of writing an elaborate piece on Heather (not even sure I can do that), with the author’s permission I retrieved a few snippets from her Facebook page to show you exactly why Heather Killough-Walden has that “Extra Shine”. I suppose if I dug a little deeper I would find so much more and so many more reasons to continue following Heather, needless to say that I’m a loyal fan and she has reached that point in her writing that I see her name and I buy the book without bothering to read the blurb. I know that it will be good and worth the money I paid for it.

She is grateful to those who follow her and she lets them know about it

Heather Killough-Walden
I have to say this. I do hope that it’s clear enough – that I make it obvious on a fairly regular basis. But… on the off chance that I don’t, here it goes:
I am so grateful for the kind things you say.
You may not fully realize this, but when it comes down to it, positive feedback absolutely and fundamentally sustains authors like me. YOUR words are what keep OUR words going.
If it weren’t for you having the courage to tell your favorite authors how much you love them, we probably wouldn’t bother. Because it’s a lot of work. A LOT of work, LOL.
You make it worth it – and I thank you.
XOXO
 
A mother who takes her children’s education seriously
Tip for my homeschooling friends (I thought I would start posting these every now and then since I know that quite a few of you are now going down this road, and I’ve been on it for some time, so why not share?): The game “Robbin’ Eggs” is a wonderful way to teach math, memorization skills, and strategy all rolled into one. Three lessons in one 45 minute game in which you sit down and interact on a personal level with your child. Priceless. (And an added bonus? This game is not easy; you might just lose to your 9 year old.
 
and she’s a little nuts (essential in all authors, this is a quality by the way)
IT’S STORMING!!!! THERE’S ACTUALLY THUNDER!!! YAY THOR!!!!!! WOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!
Long live naked rain dances!! LOL
 
sharing sweet family moments that makes me smile
My daughter manages to crack me up even when I’m not feeling well. I’ve been nauseated today, maybe caught something, maybe it’s my migraine. Anyway, I had a Sprite in the freezer getting cold. I set the timer on the stove so I wouldn’t forget and let it explode. The timer goes off, and my daughter calls from the next room, “The bell tolls for thee, mama – the bell tolls for thee!”
 
lets us know that shit happens to authors too
Got home to record breaking frigid temps and the heater had of course been off. We tried to sleep on the bed. It’s a Tempurpedic. LOL Know what happens to Tempurpedic beds in cold weather? My poor back.
Frozen pipes and no water. That means no shower. And no coffee.
Car won’t start, so no trip to Starbucks.
Reminds me of living in Minnesota instead of the desert.
Don’t get me wrong, though. I would still rather have the cold than the heat. You can always put on more clothes. There are only so many you can take off.
 
she is generous not only sharing moments of her life but with her books
FREE!!
In this time of witches and warlocks, of magic and mystery – the New York Times bestselling paranormal romance, The Spell is FREE. Stop in, pick up your copy, and see what all the fuss is about. Then read the rest of the series in The Big Bad Wolf Romance Compilation – and its spinoff series, The Kings.
HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!!
http://www.amazon.com/Spell-Big-Bad-Wolf-ebook/dp/B004RPSH0O/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1383047560&sr=1-1&keywords=the+spell+heather+killough-walden
The Spell (The Big Bad Wolf Series)
(The Spell is the New York Times bestselling third book in the Big Bad Wolf series.)Dannai, who is also known as the Healer, has begun dreaming of werewolves. She’d always been able to…
 
a defender of good causes including other authors
I’m reposting because this is too important. This is, perhaps, at the very core of importance to me, to my career, to my every-day life.

Dear readers, please, please SIGN the petition to Amazon to help stop the bullying of Indie Authors (lSee more

Jeff Bezos: Protect Amazon.com Users and Indie Publishing Authors from Bullying and Harassment…
For the consideration of Mr. Jeff Bezos and Mr. Jon P. Fine: The purpose of this petition is to bring to the attention of Mr….
 
and she has a sense of humour
Me: “Siri, what is the average air-speed velocity of a swallow?”
Siri: “The last person to ask me that ended up in a crevasse.”

Thank you Heather, for every moment of pleasure that you have provided me over the years through your books!
 
 
Leave a Reply

