Ironic isn’t it?

Coffee anyone?

Image

Let me start by saying that I’m not religious, and mostly I don’t mind it and try to respect others’ beliefs. My friends are extremely diverse in their beliefs and others are atheists and we accept and respect each other. We have a golden rule, never discuss religion, and it works, each one to his own. The next thing I would like to mention is that I support basic human rights, whether it is the right to an education, the right for peace and freedom or whether it is LGTB rights. But then some idiots come along that instead of ‘not minding’ religion makes me think that religion is just bad for you and it taints your soul with darkness. A good example of that is the Westboro Baptist Church. I was browsing through the news on CNN when I came across this:

Westboro Baptist Church Suing Funeral Protesters Of Fred Phelps

In this July 1, 2007 photo, the Rev. Fred Phelps Sr. prepares to protest outside the Kansas Statehouse in Topeka, Kansas. Phelps, the founder of the Kansas church known for anti-gay protests and pickets at military funerals, died Thursday, March 20, 2014. He was 84. (AP Photo/Orlin Wagner, File) / AP

“Any f*gs that wanna come out and protest my dad’s funeral better be ready for a lawsuit,” Fred Phelps‘s son, Timothy Phelps told CNN on Friday.

The article continues but I laughed out loud at this, ironic isn’t it? What goes around comes around. My logical side tells me that no one should picket his funeral and ignore his existence as he deserves, but my emotional side is screaming out loud “picket the bastard’s funeral in rainbow colours and playing electric guitars to the sound of heavy metal with your amps on full blast!”

I read this once, have no idea who the author is but I fully agree with it.

“You don’t need religion to have morals. If you can’t determine right from wrong, then you lack empathy, not religion.”

 

Leave a Reply

